Good Things Come in 3s: Reasons I’m Going to Reunion

It’s 9 weeks until our first reunion kicks off on June 6! Each week, we will be showcasing an alum who will be attending Reunion 2014, and the reasons they are excited about coming back to campus. This week, we start with Hillary Chu, Wellesley 2009 alum, committed marathon runner, and do-gooder at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Without further ado, Ms. Hillary Chu…


Hillary Chu at the 2013 Boston Marathon.

Hillary Chu at the 2013 Boston Marathon.

I’m excited to be a guest blogger on the ’09 blog! Since graduating, I’ve moved to L.A. then back to Boston, a homecoming that I’ve deeply regretted this winter! What’s fun about living in the Boston area is running into Wellesley alums and students all the time — you don’t necessarily know the person, but if she’s carrying a Wellesley tote or wearing a W football shirt, you know one thing: she is awesome!

Currently, the #1 conversation-starter when I meet a Wellesley alum: “so what do you think about the sleep-walking naked man?” This never fails to elicit a groan, always followed by a laugh!
great ways I’ve taken advantage of being a Wellesley alum:
  1. I audited a class! I took drawing 105 (one of the few classes offering a night section), and it was really fun to be in a class with such smart students (and be taking it for free)!
  2. I made possibly the best use of the W network ever: I reached out to an alum who is a senior curator at the Met, and she gave me a back-stage tour of the old European department! How awesome is that?
Finally, 3 reasons I’m excited about going to reunion!
  1. FRIENDS: Of course, my top reason is getting to see my friends again! I’m beyond excited for quality catching-up.
  2. WELLESLEY BEAUTY: I also miss the campus itself–I’ve run by on a couple of my group training runs (prepping for the Boston Marathon!), but not in, so I haven’t even seen the sleep-walking naked man yet!
  3. THE ALUMS: And I’m really looking forward to meeting alums from previous years–I had so much fun at past reunions hearing about their wild shenanigans “back in the day”! Now that we’re attending our FIRST reunion as alums, it’s also our first official event with that sisterhood!
Hillary Chu ('09) was greeted at the scream tunnel at the 2013 Boston Marathon by Xing-Yin Ni, Joyce Chen, and Annie Zhou, all '09 alums.

Hillary Chu (’09) was greeted at the scream tunnel at the 2013 Boston Marathon by Xing-Yin Ni, Joyce Chen, and Annie Zhou, all ’09 alums.


Register for reunion by April 17 to take advantage of the early bird discount: http://www.wellesley.edu/alumnae/events/reunion_general/registration-class-schedules

Blog with us! Email wellesley2009reunion@gmail.com. 

One comment

Leave a comment