STAYING HOME, STAYING CONNECTED

Reunion is in a couple of days! Are you as excited as we are? If you’re coming, we look forward to seeing you soon. If you’re unable to make it, we’re sad that we won’t be seeing you, but hope you will stay involved in our class, either through our class notes and our Facebook group. The Wellesley Alumnae network is a family that you can always plug into, either in person or through your local alumnae club.

That is the sentiment more eloquently expressed by Eliza Borné, an alumna who unfortunately won’t be going to reunion this year, but who will be celebrating with us in spirit. Here she is on what it means to be a Wellesley alumnae, and staying connected despite staying at home.


There’s something different about this week’s guest post…I’m sad to report that I won’t be going to reunion this year.

The reason? I’ve come to believe that this year is my “year of the wedding.” I know lots of y’all can relate. In 2014, I’ve RSVP’d to no less than six weddings—so far (it’d be seven if two weren’t on the same weekend). My husband and I are from different states, we went to different colleges, and we had a four-year stint in Nashville after I graduated from Wellesley. Now we live in Little Rock, where I work at the Oxford American magazine. All of those communities happily add up to lots of friends in the 27-to-35-year-old range in many different locales. And now that a bunch of them are getting hitched, we’re enjoying year-round mini-reunions all over the country.

We’re also hoarding our vacation days and saving our pennies to foot the bill, which means that this June, a trip back to Massachusetts is a no-go.

I’m bummed that I won’t be able to walk the beautiful campus or visit with old friends, many of whom I haven’t seen since 2009. I miss so many things about Wellesley: hanging out with the Newsies (Wellesley News staff), walking around the lake to clear my mind, hosting impromptu dance parties with my roomie Kate Wolff.

But when my dear friend (and reunion co-chair) Annie Zhou asked me to write about ways I continue to stay involved with Wellesley that don’t involve going to reunion, I started thinking about it and realized that the college is still very present in my life—even though the campus is about 1,500 miles away from my front door.

When I first moved to Nashville, one of my first orders of business was to contact the alumnae club. I’m so glad I did. The women in this group welcomed me in activities ranging from happy hours to volunteer work at the YWCA, and they helped me adjust to life after Wellesley when I was starting my first real job in a new city.

And I adore the Wellesley ladies in Little Rock—like Elaine Hoffman Scott ’57, with whom I belong to a book club; or Ellen Bass Brantley ’70, who recently hosted a “Ready for Hillary” party (as Arkansan Wellesley women, we are SO ready for HRC ’69!); or Hannah Vogler ’96, who gives great advice about how to be a leader at work. I’m occasionally contacted by young alumnae via the W Network for tips on starting a career in my field, and I always make time for those calls; I can think of so many ways that I have personally benefited from my own friendships and conversations with alums.

Here’s an example. Thanks to the kindness of associate editor Lisa Scanlon ’99, I get to write often for the Wellesley alumnae magazine. I love reading and reviewing books written by my talented Wellesley sibs (folks like Monica Byrne ’03 and Malinda Lo ’96—who wow me with their talent and keep me up late turning pages). One time, I even got to interview superstar romance novelist Lisa Kleypas ’86.

Speaking of Lisa Kleypas, I think I’ll wrap this up by circling back to weddings. (Lisa would approve. During our Q&A, she made it a point to note that “love is part of a fulfilled life.”) At my wedding, in October of 2013, it was such a joy to be surrounded by a group of my Wellesley sisters, two of whom were bridesmaids. I will never forget the feeling of having them stand next to me while I made those big promises in front of so many people I love.

Eliza Borné and Kate Wolff

On my wedding day with my Wellesley roommate/bridesmaid Kate Wolff. I love this pic because it’s so us… it’s the middle of my wedding, but I still can’t help but stop and gab with my old friend. Photo by Kati Mallory.

This June, I’ll be feeling the Wellesley love from afar while my classmates return to campus. I’m going to miss the all-class dance party and the catching up with friends.

But I have a feeling that throughout this year (and all years) I’ll find other ways to stay in touch.

Leave a comment