Crossing the Pond to Get to the Lake (Waban, that is)

Our 5-year reunion is in just a couple of days! The travel back to campus for some of you may be relatively short (one of our co-chairs Joyce Chen lives in Cambridge, MA), but for some of you, you may be boarding planes and traveling for many hours to get back to Wellesley. We thank you for taking the time (and money) to attend reunion. This week’s guest post comes from Erika Kahn, an alumnae who is traveling from London!


Erika Kahn

When I tell people in London that I’m going to my college reunion, they often assume I’m just meeting up with a couple of friends. When I explain that Reunion will actually last three days, that I’m not sure exactly what’s going to happen but that there will be activities including a parade, that most of us will be housed in dorms on campus, and that not only will I see my friends, but also a lot of my year’s classmates, as well as all of the other ‘4s and ‘9s — well, they look surprised!

I moved to Paris right after graduation, and to London a year later, first for grad school, then for work. The concept of school pride is generally less strong in Europe than in the US. When I meet Wellesley women, I know that we share a special bond and that there’s a large part of my identity that needs no explaining.

I haven’t been back to campus or to the Boston area since graduation. I’m excited to see the beautiful campus and Lake Waban, and of course, my Wellesley sisters. It’s one thing to catch up via email or Skype – It will be another to have everyone hanging out in a res hall and on campus, running into each other in the Bates dining hall as we’re trying to sample every single dish available at the buffet! (And come on, Class of 2009, how can we not have fun in the Anti-Virus dorm*?!)

I’m excited to hear about what everyone has been up to for the last five years – I’m pretty sure that most of us wouldn’t have imagined where life would take us. I’m looking forward to talking about our hopes and dreams, our doubts and dilemmas, and our outlooks on life – It’s comforting to know that five years after graduation, the sisterhood is still there. I’m excited about Reunion and about this opportunity to reconnect.

See you there!

*I am, of course, referring to McAfee

Leave a comment